Login Register

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Latin translation "active" or "actual" participation?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:04 am 
Paladin
Paladin

Religion: Catholic
Currently, as no one here knows until now, I am studying religion (can't call it theology because they call it "Religious Studies") at a local Catholic University.

Already and with the fullest expectations I have run into the modern gobbledygook contained in the material I am reading with such wonderful expressions as "life-giving synergies” all the while quoting Rahner and Schillebeeckx – those wonderful bastions of Orthodoxy.

In class today we were talking about participation in the liturgy and the book (which gave decent treatment to the subject) and the professor used the common translation of Vatican II which renders it “active participation.” I asked him if a more accurate translation would be “actual participation” (because this is what I have read) to which he responded that it was debatable and it seemed he was implying that “active” would be the preferred translation.

So, not knowing Latin I would like to ask those who do what they think:

Quare ad universum Corpus Ecclesiae pertinent illudque manifestant et afficiunt; singula vero membra ipsius diverso modo, pro diversitate ordinum, munerum et actualis participationis, attingunt.

I have read the proper translation is “actual.” Is that true? Or is “active” more accurate? And if someone can confirm one or the other could you please tell me why that is? Thanks.

"We need neither progressives nor reactionary conservatives, only Catholic Traditionalists" - Ryan Grant

Post subject: Re: Latin translation "active" or "actual" participation?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:33 am 
The Exterminator

Religion: Númenórean Catholic
The google translation:
Quote: